RSS

EGG SHELLS??

13 Feb

I’ve arrived at a time in my life where I’m realizing and accepting a lot of things.
The first thing that I’ve really come to accept is that I’m not perfect. Yes, yes, yes, I know you’re thinking “well, none of us are perfect,” but saying that and living it with conviction is two totally different things.
Living the fact that we aren’t perfect means that when people put their expectations on us we no longer try to live up to those expectations without regard for our own life’s happiness. The past for me was a lot different. Having people in my life that put their expectations on me, and try to hold me up to some higher standard when it comes to my treatment of them had me for years walking on EGG SHELLS…I’m mean to the point that everything that I did I always stopped to consider whether or not it would hurt one particular person or a group of persons feelings. For a long time this made miserable because little did I know that the more I accepted their behavior the more I gave them permission to treat me that way.
I was always double checking to see how what my decisions would do to them or if something that I said or did offended them. I never took into account my own feelings and how their treatment of me was affecting my outlook about myself. Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying that we are suppose to act in such a manner that we could care less about what the people that we have in our lives say or think, but what I am saying is that it is wrong for a person to hold anybody to a standard of expectation in a relationship that clearly under minds another. All relationships that we have or engage in should be MUTUALLY BENEFICIAL. To allow a person to always take, take, take, from you in anyway, whether it be naturally, physically, emotionally, or spiritually, and they don’t pour back into you is to set yourself up to be depleted of all of your resources regardless to what they are.
I have learned that when people hold you up to their expectations that’s exactly what they are, THEIR EXPECTATIONS. I came to a decision that Egg Shells were never made to be walked on and therefore, I have decided to retire my EGG SHELL WALKING and move on to walking on a clear and stable path for myself, my life in general, and even in my life with my husband (which began to be affected by my Egg Shell Walking)…I’ve taken my life back.
I know that there are those that no longer desire to be a part of my life, but that just makes room for more MUTUALLY BENEFICIAL RELATIONSHIPS; after all, that’s what I asked God for.
I must tell you that it is far better and easier to just be me, and let others be who they are. We as people don’t have to always agree, but I feel that we can always find a way to respect each other, and honor each other without pushing our expectations off on each other.
I’ve learned to truly accept that I’m not perfect, striving to always grow to be better, and the fact of the matter is nobody else is either, so, I won’t push my own expectations off on them.
NO MORE EGG SHELLS!

Feel free to comment, I’d love to hear your thoughts on this.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 13, 2012 in General, Spiritual Encouragement

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
