RSS

Good Deeds For Sure

15 Mar

Ok, so last weekend a few friends (the hubby, and the worship team of my church) and I all got together to see the new movie by Tyler Perry. The main reason I wanted to see it is because I had been reading a few Face book stats from men saying that it was a typical “Tyler Perry, angry woman gets saved by a nice guy” movie…and I not only disliked the remark, but just felt that Tyler has so much more in him than that.
So, during the movie I had some moments of laughter, thought provoking moments, and truly gut wrench crying moments. This movie put it all out there. I mean just when you think that you know the woman that you might work with, how she’s always angry and snappy, how she seems to always be running late and having excuses; this movie makes you stop and say “wow, you just never know what the next person may be dealing with in their life outside of the job.”
I found myself shaking my head in pain for this woman as one bad thing after another, after another, after another just seemed to fall in her path. I know a few women that have dealt with the very thing that this woman dealt with in this movie, but the only thing is that they had to just struggle through. Nobody came to their aid, nobody was in their life who could really do a “Good Deed” to bring them out of their situation. When you see people in your life struggle, regardless of how they got there, and you CAN’T do a thing to help them directly it crushes you on the inside. I watched this movie with so much emotion because to me it was like watching a 20/20 story or documentary…well in actuality it was a documentary. How many of you have been or know of somebody who’s been in that situation or almost in that situation? Either way it is a scary thought.
Even the seemed to be angry and ungrateful brother had some underlying issues as to why he “seemed” angry, ungrateful, and even bitter. You just never know what is in the heart of a person; which is why its so important to walk in love toward people in this world. As humans we face 100 million things on a day to day basis, some of which connect us in so many ways that we really don’t have the room or time to be judgmental of each other because we all have something that we are dealing with. What you deal with may not be what I have to deal with, but it still remains that we all are connected by certain human struggles.
At first look this woman just seemed to have a really really bad day, but as you sit and watch and take in all that is going on you see that she is in this predicament do to a loss in her life and her having to make a quick decision to keep her and her daughter afloat.
Wesley, who is “The Man” in the movie, even had his own issues that he had to deal with, but as he learned more about this woman, he also learned more about himself and his real dreams and desires for life. His character showed me the sacrifices that we as people sometimes make, all with good intentions, but can be detrimental to our own dreams for our lives. His desire to make sure that the dreams of his father and mother stayed afloat was draining him, to say the least, as he worked endlessly to appear in control of it all. He had dreams of his own that were on the back burner because of what his mother “wanted” for the family business. The disrespectful and degrading relationship of the younger brother and the mother made me literally want to slap his face…LOL…I’m so serious, but later I understood, he too had a dream. It was amazing to watch one brother live the dream of the other while putting his dream on hold and the other brother become bitter and resentful to him for “living his dream” so to speak.
When Wesley really found out the truth of what was going on with this woman there was something in him that would not allow him to just sit by and watch, but he absolutely had to do something. This was so inspirational to me because of the dreams that I have to help people on a larger scale, but for now I do what I can.
What a different type of world we would be living in if as a people when we see others that truly need help step up and do something to help them. We may not be able to do it all but there is something that we all can do and if we just start there change would really be obtainable.
One thing I can say about this movie, without making this movie review into a book, LOL, is that it pricked my heart. It made me take a lot of things into consideration in my life and the lives of those that I come into contact with. This movie makes you go into yourself and for me that’s always a good thing to leave a movie with. Entertainment is a good thing, but a life changing thought provoking movie encounter is something totally different. I’m proud of Tyler Perry and Good Deeds. If you haven’t seen it, you should go see it.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on March 15, 2012 in General

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
